Answering FAQs About System Development Life Cycle!

What is the System Development Life Cycle?

Is the System Development Life Cycle Important?

What are the Phases Under the System Development Life Cycle?





Integration and Testing



What are the System Development Life Cycle Models?

  • Waterfall Model. This is a traditional and most straightforward form of SDLC. It works by unlocking a new phase after completing the previous one. Reverting changes isn’t allowed unless you’re in the maintenance stage.
  • Iterative Model. This is a different and more active approach. After every stage, the team will test, review, and modify the output. It’s a segmented process that reduces costs and the time for future changes.
  • Spiral Model. This is a flexible form of SDLC. The team can accept input from users or stakeholders, even during production. It is excellent for creating customized software or systems that require constant client feedback.
  • V-Shaped Model. Similar to the Waterfall model, the V-Shaped method only allows employees to complete the phases in sequence. The only difference is that after each phase, there’s a different testing stage.
  • Agile Model. Agile is where the team does concurrent tasks and cycles. The team will release and test frequently but in small updates. It is popular among large groups and companies that need to accommodate more projects and accomplish deliverables.
  • Big Bang Model. If you’re only managing a small project, using this model is acceptable. Although, less time allocation for planning isn’t ideal for complex development.



Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store